Home  /  Parks & Recreation Community Events Calendar

Parks & Recreation Community Events Calendar

   

Red, White and Blues 4th of July photo

City of Federal Way, Parks and Recreation
Community Events Calendar

COMMUNITY EVENTS CALENDAR 2018
 

Apr 21 Earth Day/Parks Appreciation
9am–12pm Celebration Park (32713 13th Pl S.) FreeBrush Clean–up, & Litter Pick–up. Volunteers needed. Contactn Jason Gerwen (253) 835-6962 Jason.gerwen@cityoffederalway.com

 

May 19 Touch a Truck
11:00am–2:00pm Location: old Target parking lot next to the PAEC, 31510 Pete von Reichbauer Way S. Free, City and other varieties of vehicles for kids to walk in and visit along with demonstrations.

 

May 19 Blue Poppy Day
10:00 am–4:00 pm, Free Admission, Rhododendron Species Botanical Garden, 2525 S. 336th St., Federal Way, WA, RhodyGarden.org, Juried Art in the gardens, Musical performances, Enjoy the Blue Poppies in bloom in the meadow!

 

June 9 Summer Splashtactular
11:00–1:00pm FWCC Pool A free, fun, family water safety event.
 

June 2 Hooked on Fishing Derby
8am–12pm Steel Lake Park $5 per child pre-register; $6 Day ofFishing event for children ages 2–12.
 

Jul 4 Miles 4 Meso 5k run/walk
9:00 AM FWCCAdults: $20 until 4/30, $25 until 5/31, $30 until 6/30, $35 day of.Kids: 17 & under —$15, FREE ¼ Mile Kids Dash 10 & under. To Register.
 

Jul 4 Red White & Blues
4pm–10pm Celebration Park FreeMusic, food, art, kids parade, games, inflatables & fireworks. More info.
 

July 11 & Aug 22 Summer Kids Concerts NEW!
12–1pm Town Square Park FreeOne-hour outdoor concerts in the park. Kids band/music.
 

July 11 & Aug 22 Summer Kids Concerts NEW!
12–1pm Town Square Park FreeOne-hour outdoor concerts in the park. Kids band/music.
 

Jul 28, Aug 25 Movies in the Park
Dusk Town Square Park FreeFree movies, popcorn on the great lawn.
 

Aug 1 Kids Day
11am–3pm Steel Lake Park FreeKid’s Day in the park for ages 2–12. Crafts, food, entertainment & fun, Inflatable slide ($3 ticket).
 

Oct 12 Oktoberfest fundraiser
6–9pm FWCC Pre-registration $25 Support Kiwanis & Federal Way Parks & Recreation Inclusion Programs! Polka music, polka dance lessons, beer and wine bar, costume contest, bratwurst bar, guest speakers, silent auction items, dessert auction!
 

Oct 27 Tricks & Treats Funfest
3–6pm FWCC Gym Pre-register $5, at the door $10, Adults freeHalloween Costume Carnival for the whole family. Costume contests, Haunted Hallway, Candy & Fun!
 

Dec 1 Jingle Bell Brunch
10–11:30am FWCC Pre-Registration $15 adults, $12 kids Breakfast with Santa for ages 2–12 yrs. Food, hot cocoa station, music, crafts & fun!
 

Dec 1 Tree Lighting
4–5pm Town Square Park FreeSanta, activities, music, tree lighting by Mayor.
 

Dec 6 Cookies w/Mrs. Claus
5:30–7pm FWCC $3 per personCookie decorating and activities.

Department: 

Contacts

Cody Geddes
Recreation Supervisor
Cody.geddes@cityoffederalway.com
253-835-6926

David Schmidt
Seniors Recreation Coordinator
david.schmidt@cityoffederalway.com
253-835-6925

Cassie Swan
Cultural Events & Arts Coordinator
Cassie.Swan@cityoffederalway.com  
253-835-6928     

Event Sponsorships
Event.Assistant@cityoffederalway.com  
253-209-2422  

Kevin Hutchinson
Inclusion Coordinator
kevin.hutchinson@cityoffederalway.com
253-835-6927

Kim Ledyard
Community Recreation Coordinator
Kim.Ledyard@cityoffederalway.com
253-835-6934

Doug Nelson
Community Center Manager
doug.nelson@cityoffederalway.com
253-835-6930

David Clemons
Customer Service Coordinator
David.Clemons@cityoffederalway.com
253-835-6949

Hannah Thayer
Fitness & Athletics Coordinator
Hannah.Thayer@cityoffederalway.com
253-835-6937

Craig Feldman
Aquatics Coordinator
craig.feldman@cityoffederalway.com
253-835-6945

Susan Freeburg
Rental Coordinator
Susan.Freeburg@cityoffederalway.com
253-835-6940

Federal Way Community Center
876 S. 333rd St.
Federal Way, WA 98003
Tel: 253-835-6900
Fax: 253-835-6929
facebook