Home  /  Inside City Hall  /  Boards & Commissions  /  Planning Commission

Planning Commission




The Planning Commission provides recommendations to the City Council regarding land-use policies, including the Federal Way Comprehensive Plan and Map and zoning code amendments. The commission holds public hearings, obtains public testimony, and provides recommendations to the City Council through the Council’s Land Use / Transportation Committee (LUTC).


The Planning Commission consists of seven members who are residents or property owners in Federal Way having an interest in land use and planning issues, and a commitment to the planned development of the community. The Planning Commission shall be appointed by the City Council. Each member shall serve a term of four years. For more information about the Commission, see FWRC 2.90.

                Members                 Meetings                 Contact Information
  • Lawson Bronson, Chair
  • Diana Noble-Gulliford, Vice-Chair
  • Hope Elder
  • Tim O'Neil
  • Jae So
  • Wayne Carlson
  • Tom Medhurst
  • Anna Patrick, Alternate
  • Vickie Chynoweth, Alternate
  • Vacant, Alternate

1st & 3rd Wednesdays
6:00 p.m.

City Hall Council Chambers
33325 8th Ave S
Federal Way, WA  98003

Keith Niven, Planning Manager

Kari Cimmer, Admin & Permit Center Supervisor 


Agenda, Minutes, & Packets for upcoming and past meetings may be found on the Agenda and Minutes page.