Home  /  Inside City Hall  /  Boards & Commissions  /  Civil Service Commission

Civil Service Commission



Exercise the powers and perform the duties established by state law in connection with the selection, appointment, promotion, demotion, and employment of commissioned police officers unless exempt pursuant to RCW 41.06.070.

Comprised of five voting members and two alternates appointed by the mayor.


  • Kenneth Pratt, Chair
  • David Baine, Voting
  • Saudia Abdullah, Voting
  • Melissa Hamilton, Voting
  • Vacant, Voting
  • Vacant, Alternate
  • Vacant, Alternate




Sun So
Civil Service Secretary 
Chief Examiner

Joanna Eide
Assistant City Attorney

Ph: 253.835.2533

33325 8th Ave. S.
Federal Way, WA 98003

Monday - Friday
8:00 am - 5:00 pm