Home  /  Green Living Workshops

Green Living Workshops

   

The City sponsors free workshops on Green Living topics including recycling, composting, edible gardening, rain barrels, solar energy, backyard chickens, and more. Classes may be added, so check back often or subscribe to our "Environmental Services (Recycling and Surface Water)" E-Newsletter for updates.

Workshops are held in partnership with community organizations when possible. These workshops are funded from grants from the Washington State Department of Ecology, King County Solid Waste Division, and the Hazardous Waste Management Program in King County.

Due to COVID-19, Green Living Workshops after March 2020 will be moved to a virtual platform. These live classes will be held via Zoom and include interactive lectures with slide shows, video demonstrations, and time for questions. Please register in advance so we can email class materials and resource sheets. If a recording of the lecture is available, it will be posted in the Facebook event for viewing after the event.

 

2021 Green Living Workshop Schedule:

  Clutter clearing  

Clutter Clearing
Wednesday, January 13
6:00 PM

Facebook Event

       
   

Green Cleaning 
Wednesday, February 10
6:00 PM

Facebook Event

       
   

Cultivando Alimentos en Contenedores
Thursday, March 25
6:00 PM

Facebook Event

       
   

Natural Yard Care
Thursday, April 1
6:00 PM

Facebook Event

 

       
 

Growing Food in Containers

 

Growing Food in Containers 
Thursday, April 8
6:00 PM

Facebook Event

   

Everything You Want to Know About Rain Barrels

Thursday, April 22
6:00 PM
       
 

 

Edible Spring Greens
Thursday, April 29
6:00 PM

Facebook Event

  Jars of Canned Food   The Basics of Home Canning
Thursday, May 13
6:00 PM

Facebook Event
       
  Pickles and canning jars   Make Homemade Pickles
Thursday, May 27
6:00 PM

Facebook Event
       
    Intro to Food Dehydrating
Thursday, June 10
6:00 PM

Facebook Event
     
 
  Bar with bottles and produce   Creating a Closed-loop Kitchen with Bitters, Infusions & Stocks
Thursday, June 24
6:00 PM

Facebook Event
       

 

Department: