Home  /  Inside City Hall  /  Departments  /  City Council

City Council


Sound Transit Board Member List

Sound Transit Meeting Dates and Times



Councilmembers Assefa-Dawson, Baruso, Tran, Council President Honda, Councilmembers Koppang, Moore & Kochmar


Lydia Assefa-Dawson Position 1
Greg Baruso Position 2
Susan Honda Position 3
Hoang V. Tran Position 4
Vacant Position 5
Martin A. Moore Position 6
Linda Kochmar Position 7


The Federal Way City Council consists of seven members who are directly elected by the citizens for four-year terms. The City Council establishes law and policy by passing ordinances and resolutions. Public comment is welcomed and appreciated during the meetings. To learn more about each councilmember, please select their name above. 

If you would like to email all of the councilmembers with one email, please click here or council@cityoffederalway.com .


  • 6:30 pm
  • First and third Tuesdays of each month
    33325 8th Ave. S.
    Federal Way, WA 98003

2020/2021 Council Committees
The council divides itself into three committees for closer study of issues: 

Washington Municipal Guide 2018-2019


Reading Across America Week 2/26/19-3/1/19
Councilmembers Assefa-Dawson, Koppang and Johnson read to students at Camelot Elementary School




Mayor Ferrell, Deputy Mayor Honda, Councilmembers Assefa-Dawson, Johnson, Koppang, & Moore with the Diversity Commission,
Student Leadership from Decatur HS and the performers at the MLK 2019 Community Event 1/21/19


2019 Emerging Leaders City Council Mentees
Mayor Ferrell, CM Tran/Marcel Manjares, CM Johnson/Hope Sichel, CM Koppang/Chloe Barrier,
CM Moore/Brigitte Jimenez, CM Assefa-Dawson/Hannah Santiago, DM Honda/Katie Astruon  (1/2/19)

Christmas Tree Lighting 2018 - Town Square Park















City Council Contact

Jeri-Lynn Clark
Executive Assistant to the Council

33325 8th Ave. South
Federal Way, WA  98003

Ph: 253.835.2401
Fx: 253.835.2409

Monday - Friday
8:00 am - 5:00 pm